First Team 06/07/2018

Official: Zárate Leaves Hornets

Mauro Zárate has left the Hornets and returned to his native Argentina after signing with Boca Juniors for an undisclosed fee.

The 31-year-old, who first arrived at Watford in January 2017, has completed a permanent move to the 33-time Argentine Primera División champions.

Zárate played three times for the Hornets before suffering a serious knee injury in February 2017, and the forward spent time on loan with Al Nasr and Vélez Sarsfield during 2017/18.

First Team 06/07/2018

Fixtures: August & September TV Selections

The following four Watford fixtures in August and September are set to be moved after being selected for live TV broadcast:

  • Watford v Crystal Palace (Vicarage Road)
    Sunday August 26, 1.30pm (was Saturday August 25, 3pm)
    Sky Sports
  • Watford v Tottenham Hotspur (Vicarage Road)
    Sunday September 2, 4pm (was Saturday September 1, 3pm)
    Sky Sports
  • Watford v Manchester United (Vicarage Road)
    Saturday September 15, 5.30pm (was Saturday September 15, 3pm)
    BT Sport
  • Fulham v Watford (Craven Cottage)
    Saturday September 22, 12.30pm (was Saturday September 22, 3pm)
    Sky Sports

Another fixture that could be on the move is the trip to Burnley, Watford's first away match of the season.

Currently scheduled for Saturday August 18, 3pm, this will move back a day to Sunday August 19 (KO TBC) should Burnley progress past Aberdeen to the Europa League 3rd Qualifying Round.

This will be confirmed upon the evening of Thursday August 2. Note that, as a result of this, match tickets and coach travel will go on sale for this fixture from at the earliest 12noon on Friday August 3.


Did you know you can sync your online calendar for automatic updates when any Watford fixtures change? Also includes ticket on-sale dates, club events and more! Click HERE to download.