Interactive/btn_arrow-green_report_exsmallInteractive/btn_arrow-green_reportButton/btn_arrow_lgInteractive/btn_arrow-red_report_exsmallInteractive/btn_arrow-red_smdesktop-icon-small-arrowicon-small-arrowicon-arrow 4Interactive/close-red_dCombined ShapeCombined ShapefacebookIcon/goalIcon: Informationicon: instagram video largeIcon/instagram_dIcon/listen-live_smicon-mobile-listen-livewatford-fcIcon/own_goalIcon/pdfplayLogo/premier-league_dIcon/red-card-smallIcon/red-cardPage 1snapchatIcon/spotify_dicon: substituteIcon/substitution_smIcon/twitter_dverified-accountIcon/yellow-card
Nathaniel Chalobah & Will Hughes have their say on this weekend's Graham Taylor Matchday

“A Chance For Everyone To Pay Their Respects”


New boys Nathaniel Chalobah and Will Hughes say they are both looking forward to being part of The Graham Taylor Matchday as the Hornets prepare to honour their legendary manager. 

The game tomorrow (Sat Aug 5) against Real Sociedad, for The Graham Taylor Trophy, represents the chance to pay a fitting tribute to the man who put Watford on the footballing map and also provides the opportunity for Chalobah and Hughes to run out at Vicarage Road for the first time since arriving this summer.

"It’s going to be an emotional one and I feel honoured to be part of it," said Chalobah, speaking to the broadcast media this afternoon.

"Graham Taylor was a pivotal part of the history of the club and brought the club up from the fourth division. Tomorrow is a chance for everyone to pay their respects and give him the tribute he deserves.

"It will be a very special day for the fans, the players and especially the club."

Chalobah says it's an honour to be part of tomorrow's Graham Taylor Matchday

Hughes has spent most of his life in the Midlands, where Taylor is held in equally high esteem following distinguished spells in charge of Aston Villa and Wolves.

"I don’t know a lot about him but from what I've been told he was an unbelievable guy whose record speaks for itself," said Hughes.

"It's going to be a great occasion to honour him."

Hughes is looking forward to what he believes will be 'a great occasion'

Be there as we pay our respects to GT at The Vic - click HERE for matchday and ticketing information.


Article - Native Ad 1

Article - HPU