08/08/2016

Under-23 & Under-18 2016/17 fixtures confirmed

Fixtures for the Hornets' Under-23 and Under-18 teams during the 2016/17 season have been released.

The Under-21 Professional Development League, which Watford competed in last season, has been realigned with the newly-formed Premier League 2, and will therefore now move to the Under-23 age parameters.

This means players born on or after January 1, 1993, will now be eligible, while clubs are also able to nominate three over-age outfield players as well as one over-age goalkeeper as part of a matchday teamsheet.

See below for full fixture lists for both the Under-23s and Under-18s.

Under-23 Professional Development League

Mon Aug 15 Birmingham City A 7pm

Mon Aug 22 Huddersfield Town H 2pm

Mon Aug 29 Millwall H 7pm

Mon Sep 5 Bristol City H 2pm

Mon Sep 12 Crewe Alexandra A 1pm

Mon Sep 19 Sheffield Wednesday H 7pm

Mon Sep 26 Hull City A 7pm

Fri Oct 7 Sheffield United H 7pm

Mon Oct 17 Coventry City A 1pm

Mon Oct 24 Colchester United H 2pm

Mon Oct 31 Ipswich Town H 2pm

Mon Nov 14 Crystal Palace A 1pm

Mon Nov 21 Charlton Athletic A 1pm

Mon Nov 28 Cardiff City H 2pm

Mon Dec 12 Queens Park Rangers A 1pm

Mon Dec 19 Millwall A 1pm

Mon Jan 9 Coventry City H 2pm

Mon Jan 16 Colchester United A 7pm

Mon Jan 30 Crystal Palace H 2pm

Mon Feb 6 Ipswich Town A 1pm

Mon Feb 20 Charlton Athletic H 7pm

Mon Mar 6 Cardiff City A 7pm

Fri Mar 10 Barnsley A 1pm

Mon Mar 20 Leeds United H 7pm

Fri Mar 24 Nottingham Forest A 7pm

Mon Apr 3 Bolton Wanderers H 2pm

Mon Apr 10 Bristol City A 7pm

Mon Apr 24 Queens Park Rangers H 2pm


Under-18 Professional Development League

Sat Aug 13 Crewe Alexandra H 1.30pm

Sat Aug 20 Barnsley A 11am

Sat Aug 27 Ipswich Town A 11am

Sat Sep 3 Queens Park Rangers H 10.30am

Sat Sep 10 Nottingham Forest H 10.30am

Sat Sep 17 Huddersfield Town A 11am

Sat Oct 1 Millwall A 11am

Sat Oct 8 Bristol City H 10.30am

Sat Oct 15 Birmingham City H 10.30am

Sat Oct 22 Leeds United A 11am

Sat Oct 29 Colchester United H 10.30am

Sat Nov 5 Cardiff City A 11am

Sat Nov 12 Coventry City H 10.30am

Sat Nov 19 Charlton Athletic A 11am

Sat Nov 26 Crystal Palace A 10.45am

Sat Dec 3 Ipswich Town H 10.30am

Sat Dec 10 Millwall H 10.30am

Sat Jan 7 Bristol City A 11am

Sat Jan 14 Cardiff City H 10.30am

Sat Jan 21 Colchester United A 11am

Sat Jan 28 Coventry City A 11am

Sat Feb 4 Charlton Athletic H 10.30am

Sat Feb 11 Queens Park Rangers A 10.30am

Sat Feb 18 Crystal Palace H 10.30am

Sat Mar 4 Bolton Wanderers A 11am

Sat Mar 18 Sheffield Wednesday H 10.30am

Sat Apr 1 Sheffield United A 11am

Sat Apr 8 Hull City H 10.30am

PLEASE NOTE: All Under-23 and Under-18 fixtures are subject to change.

Under-23 home venues TBC.


WATFORD FC can also confirm that goalkeeper Charlie Bannister has signed a one-year contract with the club's Under-23s.

The 19-year-old joins from Aston Villa after featuring for the Hornets as a trialist during recent pre-season friendly matches.

He also spent part of last season on loan at Shrewsbury Town. 

06/08/2016

Watford FC & Football Manager extend partnership

Watford Football Club, Sega and Sports Interactive (SI) are delighted to announce an extension to their long-running partnership that promotes SI’s flagship game, Football Manager (FM).

FM branding will continue to be seen throughout Vicarage Road Stadium, via LED and dugout sponsorship, and the game will also benefit from inclusion on all of the club’s official interview backdrops. In addition, FM will be an ubiquitous presence at the club’s training ground at London Colney.

Whilst Watford supporters, and football supporters across the world, will already be familiar with the tie-up between the companies, 2016/17 heralds a new era in the relationship with collaboration covering a range of areas.

Watford fans will have access to a range of digital initiatives, including video content featuring Watford players showing their managerial skills as well as being able to buy a copy of Football Manager 2017 from the club’s Hornets Shop.

FM will also be making a significant contribution behind-the-scenes, where they will be working with the club’s backroom staff.

Watford’s scouts and coaches will have full access to the famed FM database and will be able to utilise it to assess player information throughout the season and in all official transfer windows, as well as contributing to the success of the game with information passed between the club and developer which has influenced the development of Football Manager 2017.

Spencer Field, Commercial Director of Watford Football Club, said: “We are delighted to extend our long-term relationship with Sega and Sports Interactive.

"It is particularly heartening that we continue to find new ways to innovate, and 2016/17 sees the launch of a number of initiatives for our staff and fans. The relationship enables us to produce compelling content while showcasing the depth and addictiveness of the world’s greatest sport management game."

Miles Jacobson, Studio Director of Sports Interactive, said: “Whilst it’s true that as a Watford supporter, working with my home-town club is always great, the return of investment on a global basis is the most important thing and Watford continue to deliver great value through this partnership.

"Their forward thinking when it comes to the supporters and the way the club is run both on the football and commercial sides is why we will hopefully be able to continue the relationship not just for this season, but for many years to come.”